From left: Lilli Auginski, Linn Svärd, Zeynep Erdal, Kerstin Tham, Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh, Matin Farzad (photographer: Fredrik Johansson)

Student city of the year

The Swedish National Union of Students (SFS) awards the Student City of the Year award every year to a city that excels in its work to create a good study and living environment for students.

The application for Student City of the Year 2024 is now closed. The winner will be announced at the beginning of the new year.

The application and preparation generally takes place in the autumn semester. Do you have a question or concern about Student City of the Year or how a city applies to become Student City of the Year? please contact [email protected].

Previous winner of Student City of the Year

In 2011/2012, SFS took a break from awarding the prize to evaluate and renew the nomination process.

  • 2010 / 11: Orebro
  • 2009 / 10: Karlstad
  • 2008 / 09: Skövde
  • 2007/2008: Gotland
  • 2006: Umeå
  • 2005: The Blekinge region 
  • 2003: Luleå 
  • 2001: Växjö
  • 2000: Sundsvall
  • 1999: Linköping